• ilcalabro
    I have a LTD company in the UK and we are looking into offer summer camps in the US. During the summer we would need to hire US citizens for up to 6 weeks. Could I offer them a fixed-term contract directly from my UK company? Could I pay them a gross salary and then they deal with their obligations in the US? The contracts offered are only seasonal. I'm looking forward to hearing from you.
  • John Berry
    Hi, and many thanks for setting off a thread.

I regret I’m not an expert on employment in the US. However, here’s a response based on our work done in the rest of the World.

To employ locally, you will need a local entity or a branch office. That entity will need to register with local tax and employment authorities. It then employs the people and sorts their tax and other deductions. That will cost you a significant overhead considering your short season.

You cannot employ someone in a foreign country under UK law. Unless there are special circumstances, local law will always take precedence.

It may therefore be better to have the people declare themselves self-employed or open their own personal service firm. You then trade with them at arms’ length, entering a commercial contract for supply of services. The services are certain deliverables that you can agree to be delivered over the six weeks.

A final option is to have them employed through an existing US firm. You then trade with that entity at arms’ length.

I recommend that you investigate the second option with a local US lawyer, or better - have the people that want to work with you to run the camps investigate. If there are no reasons to prevent this, we can help you with a suitable commercial contract.

Hope that helps.
  • John Berry
    Dear John,

Thank you for your email and your advice.

I have another question if you don't mind. Do you believe that running the programme in the US for 6 weeks constitute a permanent establishment for my company in the US?

Have a great day,